WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

WHO responds to these challenges using a six-point agenda. The six points address two health objectives, two strategic needs, and two operational approaches, which are:

  1. Promoting development;
  2. Fostering health security;
  3. Strengthening health systems;
  4. Harnessing research, information and evidence;
  5. Enhancing partnerships;
  6. Improving performance.